Huge MMA Weekend

FRIDAY
The holidays have come early for MMA fans! Tonight, a truly packed weekend of knock-outs, takedowns, counters and submissions begins on Showtime with Strikeforce Challengers 20. We’ve seen some great fights come out of the Challengers series and with the UFC poaching talent from it’s most recent acquisition, we may well see a few of these fighters have their careers put on the fast track to Strikeforce regular events, assuming that Zuffa doesn’t just turn all of Strikeforce into a “Challengers” league for the UFC, of course…

Friday’s not done there, as HD-Net airs a replay of Inside MMA, premeires Countdown to UFC 139 (on HD-Net) and premeires It’s Showtime! Canary Islands, featuring two title fights and lots of fast-paced kick boxing action!

SATURDAY
Saturday is big. Bellator kicks off the day with Bellator 58 prelims on spike.com at 5 pm ET/2 pm PT with the main card airing on MTV2 at 7 pm. The prelims are stacked, and the main card features lightweight championship matche: Eddie Alverez vs. Michael Chandler and a catch-weight non-title bout between Hector Lombard vs. Trevor Prangley. Jessica Aguilar takes on Lisa Ellis-Ward and Rafael Dias faces Marlon Sandro in feature bouts. All four main event fights have highlight-reel potential!

Of course, a big weekend like this wouldn’t be complete without some UFC action, and UFC 139 begins with facebook prelims at 6 pm ET/3 pm PT.  The facebook prelims are compelling: Tom Lawlor vs. Chris Weidman, Nick Pace vs. Miguel Torres, Rafael dos Anjos vs. Gleison Tibau, Seth Baczynski vs. Matt Brown and Shamar Bailey vs. Danny Castillo.

Spike TV airs two more prelims: Ryan Bader vs. Jason Brilz and Michael McDonald vs. Alex Soto at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, before the Main Card PPV event.

SUNDAY
Now, I would imagine there will be a lot of DVR-ing for anyone to really watch all of these fights. Sure, the streamed matches will be viewed live, but all of the other programming that conflicts may be recorded. Which is great, because you’ll need something to do while you’re staying up all night waiting for Sunday’s 7:30 am ET/4:30 am PT PPV event from M-1 Global: Fedor vs. Monson.

The main card for M-1 Global’s event should be pretty good: Fedor Emelianenko vs. Jeff Monson (of course), lightweight title bout Jose Figueroa vs. Daniel Weichel, Juan Manuel Suarez vs. Aleksander Yakoviev, Mairbek Taisumov vs. Josh Thorpe and Xavier Foupa-Pokam vs. Arthur Guseinov. (and if you fall asleep during this event… don’t worry, I won’t tell)

All in all, this should be a great weekend for MMA fans. I can’t wait… let’s get it started!

 

*Check local listings…