TUF Time!

Get ready to turn your Closed Captioning on tonight, because the UFC’s TUF reality show is set to feature fighters from the US, Canada, UK and Sweden with varying accents including Paul “Metabolic” McVeigh, the number one ranked bantamweight in Europe and an early favorite to win the 135 lb. competition. He’s the current Cage Warriors and Cage Contender Bantamweigbt champion, but also the owner of a pretty wicked Glasgow accent!

32 fighters will compete in the two-hour premiere episode, with the fighters allowed to enter the house based on winning their audition fights, all of which will be shown tonight.

Until recently, little was known about this cast of MMA fighter-housemates, except what little has been leaked out by “sneak peek” videos and television appearances by Mayhem Miller. See the initial 32 fighters below.

This will be the last season on Spike as the UFC on Fox deal moves the production to FX. I have no doubt that the production quality of this season will be ramped up as Spike seeks to showcase its production talent before Fox, the undisputed king of reality television production, takes over.

TUF 14 will feature coaches Michael Bisping and Mayhem Miller as they coach teams of featherweight and bantamweight MMA fighters seeking the live season finale December 3rd, which awards each weight class winner the prize of a six-figure UFC contract and being named “The Ultimate Fighter.”

The UFC added these weight classes when they absorbed the WEC promotion, less than a year ago. As the UFC seeks to expand internationally, these smaller weight classes gain more prominence, as they are very common throughout the world.

The action starts tonight at 9:00 pm (8:00 central) on Spike!



(alphabetical order)

John Albert (6-1, Puyallup, Washington)
Johnny Bedford (17-9-1, Watuga, Texas)
Carson Beebe (6-1, Western Springs, Illinois)
Roland Delorme (6-1, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada)
T.J. Dillashaw (4-0, Sacramento, California)
John Dodson (11-5, Albuquerque, New Mexico)
Casey Dyer (6-1, New Castle, Indiana)
B.J. Ferguson (6-2, Louisville, Kentucky)
Josh Ferguson (7-3, Louisville, Kentucky)
Louis Gaudinot (5-1, Yonkers, New York)
Matt Jaggers (20-7, Connersville, Indiana)
Tateki Matsuda (6-2, Boston, Massachusetts)
Paul McVeigh (18-6, Glasgow, Scotland)
Brandon Merkt (11-0, New Richmond, Wisconsin)
Dustin Pague (9-4, Centreville, Virginia)
Orville Smith (11-3, Indianapolis, Indiana)


(alphabetical order)

Stephen Bass (10-0, Savannah, Georgia)
Dennis Bermudez
(7-2, Massapequa, New York)
Diego Brandao
(13-7, Albuquerque, New Mexico)
Marcus Brimage
(3-1, Coconut Creek, Florida)
Bryan Caraway
(15-5, Sacramento, California)
Josh Clopton
(4-0-1, San Francisco, California)
Akira Corassani (9-3, Gothenburg, Sweden)
Karsten Lenjoint (7-1, Nottingham, United Kingdom)
Eric Marriott (20-5, Independence, Misourri)
Micah Miller (17-4, Coconut Creek, Florida)
Dustin Neace (22-17-1, Granite City, Illinois)
Jesse Newell (6-1, Ventura, California)
Brian Pearman (7-1, Springfield, Missouri)
Jimmie Rivera (8-1, Elmwood Park, New Jersey)
Steven Siler (18-9, Ogden, Utah)
Bryson Wailehua-Hansen (5-1, Honolulu, Hawaii)